TL;DR
Get pool and patio gear delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
Apple’s “Welcome Home” event introduced a smart lock and four security cameras developed with LG, expanding Apple’s smart home offering beyond its HomeView display. Prices and some features were announced, but camera service costs, local storage capacity and details of face recognition protections remain unclear.
Apple used its “Welcome Home” event on Tuesday to announce a smart lock and four security cameras developed with LG, broadening its smart home range beyond the HomeView display. The products are designed to work with Apple Home, but the company has not disclosed camera subscription costs or several details about storage and facial recognition.
The new lock is priced at $349.95 and has a circular keypad that the CNET report says appears designed to twist for manual unlocking, joining other high-end smart door locks. Apple has not detailed all its functions. The lock is expected to support Apple Home Keys and auto-unlocking, and is listed as compatible with Matter and Aliro. Matter support could allow it to work with Alexa and Google Home as well as Apple Home; Aliro compatibility could enable use with digital wallets such as Samsung Wallet.
The four cameras are all described as having 2.5K resolution. They include a video doorbell priced at $249.95, a wired floodlight camera at $399.95, an indoor camera at $199.95 and an outdoor camera at $299.95. The doorbell has two cameras, intended to show both a wider view of the yard and a closer view of the porch. Apple says the indoor camera can adjust its view when someone looks through it and lower itself when residents come home.
Apple says the cameras can identify people, pets, vehicles, packages and familiar faces, features also found in many smart home security systems. Users can view footage on Apple devices, including iPhones, Apple TVs and the HomeView display. The report says Siri AI is also expected to describe video and answer questions about footage. Apple requires an iCloud Plus plan for the camera features and says video storage includes 10 days; it has not said how much local backup storage the cameras provide.
Apple Moves Into Home Security
The announcement puts Apple into more direct competition with established camera, doorbell and smart-lock makers. Rather than relying only on partnerships or a display as a point of entry, the company is presenting a connected set of devices spanning entry access and home monitoring. That could appeal to households already using Apple products and Home, while the Matter support on the lock may also broaden its potential audience.
The practical value will depend on more than design and integration. Buyers will need to weigh the upfront prices against ongoing iCloud costs, storage limits and compatibility with their existing setup. Face recognition also makes privacy protections and local rules relevant to whether some customers can or want to use the cameras’ full feature set.
Products Worth Considering

DJI Osmo Action 5 Pro Essential Combo Waterproof 4K Action Camera

Apple AirPods Pro 3 Wireless Earbuds with Active Noise Cancellation

DJI Osmo Mobile 8 Standard Combo Phone Gimbal Stabilizer
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
From HomeView to Security Devices
The CNET report describes Apple as having moved slowly into smart home products, with earlier efforts including a limited partnership involving an LG Circle security camera. At Tuesday’s event, the HomeView smart display appeared alongside a more extensive LG collaboration covering multiple security products and a lock.
Apple’s hardware engineering vice president, Matthew Costello, said the accessories were developed with LG Electronics and Schneider Electric to work with Apple Home. His statement set out Apple’s goals of ease of use, reliability and privacy; it does not establish how the products will perform in customers’ homes.
““Apple Home Collection makes it easy to choose smart home accessories with confidence.””
— Matthew Costello, Apple vice president of hardware engineering
Costs, Storage and Face Data
Apple has not announced the price of the required iCloud Plus plan for these camera features or clarified how much space 10 days of recordings may use alongside other iCloud content. It says local storage can preserve video when cloud storage is unavailable, but its capacity is not specified. The source report also does not provide a release date or full technical specifications for the lock and cameras.
Privacy details need more clarity, especially for familiar-face recognition. The report says Apple states Home app data is end-to-end encrypted and that footage is processed locally on an Apple Home hub or through Private Cloud Compute, while also being stored in iCloud. It does not fully explain how face data is collected, retained or managed in every use case. The report notes that some jurisdictions restrict facial recognition and that lawsuits involving rival camera companies have raised consent concerns; those examples do not establish that Apple has violated any law.
Availability and Full Product Details
The next steps are for Apple to provide release timing, complete specifications and service pricing, including clearer information about local storage and how face recognition works. Those details will help buyers compare the products with other security systems and assess whether the required cloud plan fits their needs. The CNET report says the devices are yet to be tested in full, so their reliability and day-to-day performance remain unverified.
Key Questions
What did Apple announce?
Apple announced a smart lock and four security cameras developed with LG at its “Welcome Home” event, alongside its HomeView smart display.
How much do the new devices cost?
The announced prices are $349.95 for the lock, $249.95 for the video doorbell, $399.95 for the wired floodlight camera, $199.95 for the indoor camera and $299.95 for the outdoor camera.
Do the cameras require a subscription?
The report says an iCloud Plus plan is required for the camera features, but Apple had not disclosed the applicable plan cost or further details at the time of the report.
Will the lock work with non-Apple smart home systems?
The lock is described as supporting Matter, which could allow it to work with Alexa and Google Home as well as Apple Home. It is also listed as Aliro-compatible for digital wallet access. Full compatibility details were not provided.
What is known about face recognition privacy?
Apple says Home app data is end-to-end encrypted and describes footage as processed on an Apple Home hub or through Private Cloud Compute. The report does not specify all face-data retention and handling details, so those remain questions for the company to clarify.
Source: rss
